Heading to the End of the World

Cruise embarkation day started with a super early wake up call and buffet breakfast in the hotel basement. We had been divided up into four groups with staggered departure times. Unfortunately I got the first group (desired spot when on “The Amazing Race” but not when you’re not a morning person and you’re all headed to the same flight!!) I was on a bus by 4:30 am and at the airport well before 6 am.

Normally domestic flights go from the city airport but the cruise ship companies charter flights from the international airport which has a small (crappy) domestic terminal section. We had to take a bus to the plane and climb the stairs with our carry on to the plane.

I was in a middle seat of a row but the man next to me on the aisle and I were able to move to the bulkhead row; he opted for aisle which meant I got the scenic window seat.

The views of southern Argentina were beautiful.

What I didn’t count on was how harrowing the landing would be! I was seriously starting to doubt the ground was ever going to appear as we descended towards the ocean! But once it did, I was able to enjoy the beautiful mountain vista outside.

After getting our checked luggage, we proceeded to tour buses that would take us to Tierra del Fuego National Park. The park was full of beautiful scenery with views of Argentina and Chile.

When you travel alone and want photos of yourself, find the person with the good camera who looks like they know what they’re doing! Thanks Kathleen for the portraits of me at Tierra del Fuego (and later a top Winter Island in the Argentine Islands).

We had an absolutely terrible lunch and saw a bit more of the park. One of the places we stopped had an amazing view that I wanted to get closer to before I took a photo, only to have the view disappear thanks to the angle.

I snapped a few selfies before we left the park.

On the way back to the bus, I came across this guy on a motorcycle who had driven all the way down from Alaska. I think he said it took him about a year.

The tour bus then drove us to Ushuaia. We caught a view of the ship on the pier as we approached town.

Then the bus drove us right up to the ship! A crew member in uniform even helped me up the gangplank with my carryon.

After a welcome champagne, I got a tour of my cabin and soon after, we were sailing the Beagle Channel towards the Drake Passage.

So, what do you think?