My runDisney obsession

I went out for a run today and had time to think. First of all, I do not love running. I don’t think I’ll ever love running. I’m not even sure I’ll ever like running. I do like walking but I don’t always love walking. I will never be a runner. I’m a “runner”. The reason I run is so that I can do 10k races and try to get a time under 90 minutes. Why? Because that’s what I need to get a “preferred corral placement” at runDisney races. This isn’t like a preferred view hotel room or cabin on a cruise ship. This means I don’t start in the last corral. Why does it matter? Well I’m slow, that’s why.  runDisney operates their races with a requirement that you run or walk faster than a 16 minute mile or you risk getting picked up by the sweeper buses. I walk pretty much at the limit which means I can’t stop to pee or for pictures with characters or be slow for any reason.  I don’t care about the pictures with the characters but I always need to pee! So I need “the buffer”. The 16 minute mile timing starts once the last person crosses the start line. If I’m a full corral (or more!) ahead of that person, then I have 5 or 6 or more minutes of buffer.  The buffer means I can stop to pee once and not stress the entire time that I’m going to be picked up by the sweeper buses. 

74486-3059-018f

So anyway, back to the thinking. The last couple of weeks have been crazy in the runDisney world. First we had fuel for the fire of rumours about the possibility of a race at Disneyland Paris. A long time ago, the rumours started when we were surveyed by runDisney asking if we would be interested in a race in Paris (my answer was a resounding “oui!”). Well recently there was apparently a fun run for Disneyland Paris Cast Members at which they were given buttons that said the first race would be held in September 2015. The post of the button was taken off Instagram but not before the rumours whipped through the runDisney social media circles like a wildfire.  Then on May 27, runDisney started off a flurry of Tweets and Facebook posts with a teaser video of Darth Vader with the hashtag #letthewookieewin. Rumours of a Star Wars race or races have been swirling for some time. The speculation has been that the races would come to Florida since Disneyland got the Avengers race. But Disneyland also moved the Tinker Bell half marathon from January to May which made space for a new race weekend.  By the end of the day, it was confirmed that Disneyland would host a race weekend, including a challenge, in January 2015.  By day’s end, I had booked a hotel and decided on my race costumes!

727317-1056-0010s

When I started thinking about doing Disney races back in 2009, I planned on doing one. Then that ship sailed when I had registered for three before even doing the first one.  Then I went on to do every Disney half marathon at least once.  Then I started repeating them. It occurred to me on my run today it’s because I’m a collector. First I collected races, now I collect medals. My second Wine & Dine race was partly motivated by the fact that the medal changed after the second year. This year I’m doing Wine & Dine for the third time because it’s an anniversary (which means a new medal). The second Princess race I did last year was also an anniversary.    

2014 was going to be the year I slowed down and did fewer races but runDisney threw a wrench into those plans by adding new races which come with new medals! 2015 might be the year I do more races than ever in one year!

Okay, it’s not totally the medals. I could do local races for medals but Disney races come with trips….trips to my happy places! Trips where I get to spend time with some of my friends or meet new people who love the same things I do.  There are worse things I could be addicted to than half marathons and travel.

89678-8998-008f

So, what do you think?

